For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Prof. dr. Jeroen Raaijmakers, emeritus professor Cognitive Psychology at the UvA, has been elected Foreign Honorary Member of the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He joins a select group of thinkers that includes among others more than 250 Nobel en Pulitzer prize winners.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing the nation and the world. Current Academy research focuses on education, the humanities, and the arts; science, engineering, and technology policy; global security and international affairs; and American institutions and the public good. The Academy’s work is advanced by its elected members, who are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs from around the world. Famous foreign members include Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill, and John Maynard Keynes. Currently there are 7 other Dutch members of the AAAS: Gerard ’t Hooft, Ben Feringa, Ewine van Dishoeck, Piet Borst, Hans Clevers, Johan van Benthem and Rem Koolhaas.

A new model for retrieval from long-term memory

Jeroen Raaijmakers received his Ph.D. from the Radboud University at Nijmegen in 1979. In collaboration with Richard M. Shiffrin (Indiana University, USA), he developed a new model (SAM, for Search of Associative Memory) for retrieval from long-term memory that gave a quantitative description of search processes in memory. Key features of the model were a precise description of the effects of combining several retrieval cues and the role of context in retrieval from memory. Over the past 30 years the model has been successfully applied to explain a large number of empirical phenomena and is generally considered as one of the most encompassing models of human memory and a standard in current memory research.

Professor at the UvA

In 1985, Raaijmakers moved to the TNO Applied Research Institute at Soesterberg to set up a new group on Applied Cognitive Psychology, focusing on knowledge systems and human decision making. In 1992, Raaijmakers became full professor in Cognitive Psychology at the University of Amsterdam. In 1993 he became the founding director of the Graduate Research Institute for Experimental Psychology EPOS. Between 2006 and 2010, Raaijmakers was director of the Cognitive Science Center Amsterdam, focusing on the stimulation of interdisciplinary research in Cognitive Science by bringing together researchers from neurobiology, cognitive psychology, linguistics, behavioral economics and information science to work on common issues in human (and animal) cognition. He was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 2012.